Cheap travel means more travel.

Cheap is what makes the world go round. Or rather, me go around the world. So seeing TripAdvisor publish lists of of the cheapest cities internationally and in the U.S. made me really happy. That means more pins on the to-visit map permanently etched in my imagination.

Check it out this Huffington Post article for the list and a break down of the methodology (hint: it does not include flight costs). So while visiting some of these places is an excellent way to have a budget getaway, you may still be looking at a high cost to get there and back.

Interestingly, out of the 20 cities listed, I had only been to one (Philadelphia, PA, which doesn’t really count because I stayed with family and didn’t incur typical travel expenses). I definitely have my work cut out for me here.

Here are my picks of place to visit from the list:

United States:

Las Vegas (TripIndex Cost: $276.03). It’s just one of those places you have to go once, isn’t it?

Las Vegas

Source: John Rogers

New Orleans (TripIndex Cost: $323.36). Although, I am pretty sure Mardi Gras will make it considerably more expensive.

New Orleans

Source: Praline3001

Denver (TripIndex Cost: $366.38). Nothing like mountains in the background.

Denver

Source: Mclcbooks

International:

Bangkok (TripIndex Cost: $162.13). Thailand is very, very high on my to visit list, and the city looks magnificent. If only flights were cheaper.

Bangkok

Source: Mike Behnken

Cape Town (TripIndex Cost: $190.41). Straight out of a storybook. Plus, it is going to be the launching point of my safari trip!

Cape Town

Source: Neil Howard

Prague (TripIndex Cost: $323.36). I still cannot believe I have not been here. Rich in history and culture, this city is definitely high on my list.

Prague

Source: Mike G.K.

Of course, it was hard to narrow it down, and it doesn’t mean I don’t want to go to the other great cities on the list. One day!

Leave a Reply

